Committee on Finance. - Courts of Justice Bill, 1959—Money Resolution.

Wednesday, 11 November 1959

Dáil Éireann Debate
Vol. 177 No. 7

First Page Previous Page Page of 80 Next Page Last Page

Minister for Justice (Mr. Traynor): Information on Oscar Traynor  Zoom on Oscar Traynor  I move:

That it is expedient to authorise such charges on and payments out of the Central Fund as are necessary to give effect to any Act of the present session to increase the remuneration of Judges of the Supreme Court, High Court and Circuit Court and of Justices of the District Court.

Mr. Dillon: Information on James Matthew Dillon  Zoom on James Matthew Dillon  We explained on the Second Stage that we considered the timing of this proposal to be inappropriate. But, in addition, we desire to draw the attention of the House to the fact that if it is proposed to appropriate [968] public money for the purposes set out in the Bill, we think that the appropriation of money for the backdating of the award to the 1st January, 1959, in the year when old age pensioners had to wait four months for the increase in their pension, is unbecoming, and it is not a proper appropriation of public money.

Further, we believe that the absence of any differential in the percentage between the lowest and highest salary categories of the persons referred to in the Bill is a further reason why the appropriation of public money for the purposes of this Bill should be resisted; and for these reasons we propose to divide the House on the Money Resolution.

Dr. Browne: Information on Noel C. Browne  Zoom on Noel C. Browne  We have opposed the section. There is an amendment down in our name.

Acting-Chairman (Mr. Cunningham): Information on Liam Cunningham  Zoom on Liam Cunningham  We are on the Money Resolution.

Question put.

Allen, Denis.
Blaney, Neil T.
Boland, Gerald.
Boland, Kevin.
Booth, Lionel.
Brady, Seán.
Breen, Dan.
Brennan, Joseph.
Brennan, Paudge.
Browne, Seán.
Burke, Patrick.
Calleary, Phelim A.
Carty, Michael.
Childers, Erskine.
Clohessy, Patrick.
Collins, James J.
Cotter, Edward.
Crowley, Honor M.
Cummins, Patrick J.
Cunningham, Liam.
Davern, Mick.
de Valera, Vivion.
Doherty, Seán.
Donegan, Batt.
Dooley, Patrick.
Egan, Kieran P.
Egan, Nicholas.
Fanning, John.
Faulkner, Padraig.
Flynn, Stephen.
Galvin, John.
Geoghegan, John.
Gibbons, James.
Gilbride, Eugene.
Gogan, Richard P.
Healy, Augustine A.
Hillery, Patrick J.
Hilliard, Michael.
Humphreys, Francis.
Johnston, Henry M.
Kenneally, William.
Kennedy, Michael J.
Kitt, Michael F.
Loughman, Frank.
Lynch, Celia.
Lynch, Jack.
MacCarthy, Seán.
McEllistrim, Thomas.
MacEntee, Seán.
Maher, Peadar.
Medlar, Martin.
Millar, Anthony G.
Moher, John W.
Moloney, Daniel J.
Mooney, Patrick.
Ó Briain, Donnchadh.
O'Ceallaigh, Seán.
O'Malley, Donogh.
Ormonde, John.
O'Toole, James.
Ryan, James.
Ryan, Mary B.
Sheldon, William A.W.
Smith, Patrick.
Traynor, Oscar.

[969]Barry, Richard.
Beirne, John.
Belton, Jack.
Blowick, Joseph.
Browne, Noel C.
Byrne, Tom.
Casey, Seán.
Coburn, George.
Coogan, Fintan.
Corish, Brendan.
Cosgrave, Liam.
Crotty, Patrick J.
Desmond, Daniel.
Dillon, James M.
Esmonde, Sir Anthony C.
Fagan, Charles.
Flanagan, Oliver J.
Giles, Patrick.
Jones, Denis F.
Kenny, Henry.
Kyne, Thomas A.
Lindsay, Patrick.
Lynch, Thaddeus.
[970]McAuliffe, Patrick.
MacEoin, Seán.
McMenamin, Daniel.
McQuillan, John.
Manley, Timothy.
Mulcahy, Richard.
Murphy, Michael P.
Murphy, William.
Norton, William.
O'Donnell, Patrick.
O'Higgins, Michael J.
O'Higgins, Thomas F.
O'Reilly, Patrick.
O'Sullivan, Denis J.
Palmer, Patrick W.
Reynolds, Mary.
Rogers, Patrick J.
Russell, George E.
Spring, Dan.
Sweetman, Gerard.
Tully, John.
Wycherley, Florence.

Question declared carried.

Money Resolution reported and agreed to.

Last Updated: 19/05/2011 14:33:23 First Page Previous Page Page of 80 Next Page Last Page