Written Answers - Departmental Bodies.

Tuesday, 25 November 2008

Dáil Eireann Debate
Vol. 668 No. 3

First Page Previous Page Page of 424 Next Page Last Page

  142.  Deputy Ruairí Quinn  Information on Ruairí Quinn  Zoom on Ruairí Quinn   asked the Taoiseach  Information on Brian Cowen  Zoom on Brian Cowen   the names, affiliations and addresses of the census advisory group; its term of office; the name of the chairperson; the procedure that was used for their appointment; if any organisations or institutions within the State were asked for nominations; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [42727/08]

Minister of State at the Department of the Taoiseach (Deputy Pat Carey): Information on Pat Carey  Zoom on Pat Carey  The Census Advisory Group consists of the following members.

2011 Census Consultation — Census Advisory Group

Organisation Representative Designation
Department of An Taoiseach Mr. Aedan Hall Assistant Principal, Economic & Social Policy
Department of Community, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs Ms. Susan Scally Principal, Corporate Co-ordination Division
Department of Education and Science Ms. Nicola Tickner Statistician
Department of Enterprise, Trade and Employment Mr. Fergus Doyle HEO, Planning Unit
Department of the Environment, Heritage and Local Government Mr. Frank Donohoe Assistant Principal, Housing Policy Unit
Department of Finance Ms. Anne Donegan Assistant Principal, Budget, Economic & Pensions Division
Department of Health and Children Mr. Hugh Magee Senior Statistician
Department of Social and Family Affairs Mr. Paul Morrin Senior Statistician
Department of Transport Mr. Ken Jordan Statistician
Dublin Transportation Office Mr. Frank McCabe Technical Director — Research and Analysis
Economic and Social Research Institute Dr. Dorothy Watson Senior Research Officer
Equality Authority Mr. Laurence Bond Head of Research
Irish Business and Employers Confederation Mr. Fergal O’Brien Senior Economist
Irish Congress of Trade Unions Mr. Conor Farrell Research Officer — Social Affairs
Local Government Management Services Board Mr. David O’Connor County Manager, Fingal County Council
National Disability Authority Ms. Mary Van Lieshout Head of Research & Standards Development
Regional Authorities Directors’ Association Mr. John Byrne Secretary (Director — Mid-East Regional Authority)
UCD Prof. Tony Fahey Professor of Social Policy
NUI Maynooth Prof. Rob Kitchin Director — National Institute for Regional and Spatial Analysis
Central Statistics Office Mr. Gerry Brady Senior Statistician — Social Statistics Integration
Central Statistics Office Mr. Dermot Corcoran Statistician — Census
Central Statistics Office Ms. Deirdre Cullen Senior Statistician — Census
Central Statistics Office Mr. Brian King Statistician — Census
Central Statistics Office Mr. Shaun McLaughlin Statistician — Census
Central Statistics Office Ms. Catriona Power (Secretary) HEO — Census
Central Statistics Office Mr. Aidan Punch (Chair) Director — Census
Central Statistics Office Mr. Declan Smyth Statistician — Census

Nominations were received from the 17 organisations indicated above who were invited to participate in the work of the group. The two university representatives were approached directly. The group has now concluded the first phase of its work in recommending the questions to be included in a pilot study to be carried out in April 2009. The group will reconvene in September 2009 and assist the CSO in making its recommendation to Government in relation to the proposed content of the 2011 census form and the outputs to be produced.

Last Updated: 07/10/2010 16:29:47 First Page Previous Page Page of 424 Next Page Last Page