Written Answers - Appointments to State Boards.

Wednesday, 3 February 2010

Dáil Éireann Debate
Vol. 701 No. 1

First Page Previous Page Page of 258 Next Page Last Page

  392.  Deputy George Lee  Zoom on George Lee   asked the Minister for Education and Science  Information on Batt O'Keeffe  Zoom on Batt O'Keeffe   the names addresses of all nominees to bodies or agencies under the remit of his Department that were appointed since 26 June 1997, detailing by whom they were appointed; when they were appointed; the amount paid by the Exchequer to each nominee each year from 1997 to 2009 broken down into income, expenses, overtime and any other relevant category; the money paid by his Department each year from 1997 to 2009 to cover expenses or incidentals related to the nominees, such as accommodation, travel and so on; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [5659/10]

Minister for Education and Science (Deputy Batt O’Keeffe): Information on Batt O'Keeffe  Zoom on Batt O'Keeffe  The range of information requested by the Deputy is substantial and as this information is not held centrally by my Department it would take an inordinate amount of administrative time to compile. If the Deputy has an interest in a particular agency then officials in my Department will request the agency concerned to provide the relevant information insofar as it is possible given the limitations the agency may have with regard to archived material.

I have set out information concerning nominations made by myself since my appointment as Minister for Education and Science to agencies under my Department’s remit.

[321]I wish to inform the Deputy that, with a small number of exceptions, my Department generally does not pay fees to chairpersons and members of boards of statutory bodies.

With regard to expenses these are matters for the bodies and agencies themselves. Agencies and bodies are required to have regard to and comply with the Code of Practice for the Governance of State Bodies, which was revised and updated in May 2009, and the Foreign Travel Guidelines 2009 issued by the Department of Finance for the attention of agencies last year.

Body Name Minister’s Nominee Nominee’s income from Body
National Council for Curriculum and Assessment (NCCA) Dr Tom Collins (Chair) Nil
Ms Máire Áine Úi Aodha Nil
State Examinations Commission (SEC) Mr Richard Langford (Chair) 12,600
Ms Breda Nolan (Deputy Chair) 8,100
Mr Tony Behan 8,100
Ms Eleanor Walsh 8,100
Mr Ivor Gleeson 8,100
Irish Research Council for the Humanities and Social Sciences (IRCHSS) Dr Michael J. Breen Nil
Prof. Caroline Fennell (chair) Nil
Prof. Michael Cronin Nil
Prof. Séan Ryder Nil
Prof. Kathleen Lynch Nil
Mr Thomas Dennehy Nil
Higher Education Authority (HEA) Mr Noel Davern 8,100
Mr Peter Mannion 8,100
Mr Ray McCarthy 8,100
National Qualifications Authority of Ireland (NQAI) Mr Peter Mannion Nil
Mr Shane Kelly Nil
Higher Education Training and Awards Council (HETAC) Mr Hugh Sullivan Nil
Mr Bartley Rock Nil
National Council for Special Education(NCSE) Mr Sydney Blain (Chair) Nil
Dr Anne Lodge Nil
Ms Joan Russell Nil
Dr Seamus Hegarty Nil
Ms Julie O’Leary Nil
Mr Pat Kinsella Nil
Mr Don Mahon Nil
Ms Teresa Griffin Nil
Mr Tom O’Sullivan Nil
Sr Mairead Ní Ghallchobhair Nil
The Teaching Council Mr Oliver Donohoe Nil
Dr Kevin Marshall Nil
Dr Padraig Hogan Nil
Ms Emer Egan Nil
Mr Kieran O’Driscoll Nil
Léargas — The Exchange Bureau Ms Geraldine Skelly Nil
Mr Des O’Loughlin Nil
Mr Jim O’Donovan Nil
Grangegorman Development Agency Mr John Fitzgerald (Chair) 21,600
Ms Maria Grogan Nil
Mr John Monahan Nil
Mr David Geary Nil
Ms Jacinta Stewart Nil
Councillor Mary Fitzpatrick Nil
Mr Bob Coggins Nil

Last Updated: 11/02/2012 02:53:17 First Page Previous Page Page of 258 Next Page Last Page