Appointment of Ministers and Ministers of State

Tuesday, 15 March 2011

Dáil Éireann Debate
Vol. 728 No. 2

First Page Previous Page Page of 7 Next Page Last Page

The Taoiseach: Information on Enda Kenny  Zoom on Enda Kenny  I wish to announce for the information of the Dáil that having informed the President that Dáil Éireann had approved my nomination of Deputies to be members of the Government on 9 March, she appointed them accordingly. On the same day I nominated Deputy Eamon Gilmore to be Tánaiste and assigned the Department of Foreign Affairs to him. On the same date I assigned the Departments of State to the other members of Government as follows:

Department of Finance to Deputy Michael Noonan.

Department of Education and Skills to Deputy Ruairí Quinn.

Department of Enterprise, Trade and Innovation to Deputy Richard Bruton.

Department of Social Protection to Deputy Joan Burton.

Department of Tourism, Culture and Sport to Deputy Jimmy Deenihan.

Department of Communications, Energy and Natural Resources to Deputy Pat Rabbitte.

Department of the Environment, Heritage and Local Government to Deputy Phil Hogan.

Department of Justice and Law Reform and Department of Defence to Deputy Alan Shatter.

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food to Deputy Simon Coveney.

Department of Community, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs to Deputy Frances Fitzgerald.

Department of Health and Children to Deputy James Reilly.

Department of Transport to Deputy Leo Varadkar.

  3 o’clock

These assignments have been made pending completion of the necessary processes for the establishment of the new Departments, and for transfers of the functions that I announced in the House last week; Deputy Brendan Howlin is a member of the Government without portfolio pending completion of these processes; on 9 March 2011 the President approved Máire Whelan SC as Attorney General; on the same date the Government appointed Deputy Paul Kehoe to be Minister of State at the Department of the Taoiseach, with special responsibility as Government Chief Whip, and at the Department of Defence; and Deputy Willie Penrose to be Minister of State at the Department of the Environment Heritage and Local Government, with special responsibility for housing and planning; and that on 10 March 2011, on my nomination, the Government appointed:


Last Updated: 08/03/2013 23:47:01 First Page Previous Page Page of 7 Next Page Last Page