Topical Issue Matters

Tuesday, 13 March 2012

Dáil Éireann Debate
Vol. 759 No. 1

First Page Previous Page Page of 494 Next Page Last Page

Acting Chairman (Deputy Olivia Mitchell): Information on Olivia Mitchell  Zoom on Olivia Mitchell  I wish to advise the House of the following matters in respect of which notice has been given under Standing Order 27A and the name of the Member in each case: (1) Deputy Thomas Pringle — the shortage of one and two bedroom apartments for rent in rural areas; (2) Deputy Michael Healy-Rae — the establishment of the Irish Water board; (3) Deputy Michael McCarthy — the need to ensure that the outbreak of a new animal disease in England will not spread here; (4) Deputy Patrick Nulty — the decision to close 21 beds at Connolly Hospital, Blanchardstown, Dublin; (5) Deputy Éamon Ó Cuív — the need to ensure the inclusion of a new school building for Clifden community school, Galway in a five year building programme; (6) Deputy Derek Keating — the problem of receiving social welfare payments through Lucan Post Office, Dublin; (7) Deputy Jonathan O’Brien — Ireland’s response to the UN UPR process and human rights recommendations; (8) Deputy Thomas P. Broughan — waste disposal services in Dublin city; (9) Deputy Martin Heydon — the need for a new school for St. Laurence’s national school, Crookstown, Athy, County Kildare; (10) Deputy Sean Fleming — the exclusion of Ballyroan schools amalgamation and Kolbe Special School, County Laois, from the school building programme for 2012-2016; (11) Deputy Peter Mathews — the need for the Central Bank Governor, Professor Honohan, to raise the need for a write-off of the emergency liquidity assistance provided by the Central Bank of Ireland to IBRC with the ECB; (12) Deputy Jerry Buttimer — the importance of rolling out a diabetic retinopathy screening programme to help prevent the onset of diabetes-related blindness; (13) Deputy Denis Naughten — the non-inclusion of Cloonakilla NS, County Roscommon in the recently announced multi-annual building programme; (14) Deputy John O’Mahony — the proposed closure of the post office in Knockmore, County Mayo; (15) Deputy Robert Dowds — the industrial dispute at Eddie Stobart hauliers; (16) Deputy Mattie McGrath — the threatened closure of St. Anthony’s long-stay and respite unit, Clonmel, County Tipperary; (17) Deputy Brendan Griffin — the need to safeguard the future of Valentia Community Hospital, County Kerry; (18) Deputy Patrick O’Donovan — the future participation of Irish citizens who are overseas in referendums and elections; (19) Deputy Jack Wall — provision of funding for women’s refuge centres; (20) Deputy Michael McGrath — the planned withdrawal of four SNA posts from Sonas special junior primary school, Carrigaline, County Cork; (21) Deputy Charles Flanagan — the need to recognise the culturally distinctive communities served by minority faith schools throughout the country; (22) Deputy Pádraig Mac Lochlainn — the strategy for addressing the emigration crisis and the devastating impact on so many of our rural communities; (23) Deputy Dara Calleary — the number of schools listed in the school building programme for 2012-2016 which are in fact new and which have not already been in planning process and the expected amount to be spent on the school building programme in 2012; (24) Deputy Mary Lou McDonald — the impact in the cut in rent allowances and the increase in the minimum contribution paid by tenants; (25) Deputy Clare Daly — the report of the Inspector of Prisons on Limerick Prison; (26) Deputy Dessie Ellis — funding for the completion of the Ballymun regeneration project, Dublin; and (27) Deputy Richard Boyd [57]Barrett — the proposal to transfer 2,000 residential units from NAMA to local authorities for leasing.

The matters raised by Deputies Michael McGrath, Robert Dowds, Derek Keating andJonathan O’Brien have been selected for discussion.

Last Updated: 08/03/2013 15:32:06 First Page Previous Page Page of 494 Next Page Last Page