Written Answers - Appointments to State Boards

Wednesday, 28 March 2012

Dáil Éireann Debate
Vol. 761 No. 1

First Page Previous Page Page of 197 Next Page Last Page

  90.  Deputy Michael Healy-Rae  Information on Michael Healy-Rae  Zoom on Michael Healy-Rae   asked the Minister for Finance since  Information on Michael Noonan  Zoom on Michael Noonan   the Government was formed the number of vacancies in State boards that have been filled by his Department without advertising the availability of the positions; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [17032/12]

Minister for Finance (Deputy Michael Noonan): Information on Michael Noonan  Zoom on Michael Noonan  In response to the Deputy’s question the following are vacancies on boards under the aegis of my Department since March 2011.

Fiscal Advisory Council

The following people were appointed to the Fiscal Advisory Council:

[155]Mr. Sebastian Barnes.

Professor Alan Barrett.

Dr. Donal Donovan.

Professor John McHale, Chair.

Dr. Roisin O’Sullivan.

As Minister for Finance I announced the establishment of the Irish Fiscal Advisory Council on a non-statutory basis on 7 July 2011. The Council is part of a wider agenda of reform of Ireland’s budgetary architecture which is envisaged in the Programme for Government and is a requirement of the EU/IMF Programme of Financial Support for Ireland. When establishing the Council, I stated that the Council would be an independent body whose existence and independence would be underpinned by legislation to be brought forward by Government in the Fiscal Responsibility Bill.

I appointed the members having regard to a number of criteria including the desirability of having a mix of appropriate backgrounds (academia, the financial sector/financial markets and public finance), macroeconomic/microeconomic expertise and a strong international dimension, as well as the need to take gender considerations into account. I am satisfied that the appointed members have the mix of skills and experience, including in relation to fiscal affairs, to ensure that the Council will be highly effective in fulfilling its mandate. The Fiscal Responsibility Bill will include provisions for the appointment of members once the Council is on a statutory footing.

National Asset Management Agency

Mr John Mulcahy was appointed to the Board of the National Asset Management Agency. He was not appointed under the new procedures for board appointments. His appointment was a National Asset Management Agency Executive Appointment. Mr Mulcahy is head of Asset Management within the National Asset Management Agency.

Irish Bank Resolution Corporation (IBRC)

Mr. Oliver Ellingham and Mr. Roger McGreal were appointed to the Board of the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation. As specific skills are required due to the nature of the business model at IBRC it was decided on this occasion not to proceed with the public advertisement of the vacancies.

Last Updated: 08/03/2013 14:34:13 First Page Previous Page Page of 197 Next Page Last Page