Constitution Amendment Proposal: Motion.

Friday, 19 July 1968

Seanad Eireann Debate
Vol. 65 No. 17

First Page Previous Page Page of 6 Next Page Last Page

Mr. Murphy: Information on Dominick F Murphy  Zoom on Dominick F Murphy  I move:

That, as the electorate decided in favour of the retention of Proportional Representation for Dáil elections as recently as 1959, Seanad Éireann condemns any new proposal to amend the Constitution in this regard as being dictatorial and undemocratic.

Question put.

Carton, Victor.
Conlan, John F.
Crowley, Patrick.
Davidson, Mary F.
FitzGerald, Garret M. D.
Fitzgerald, John.
McAuliffe, Timothy.
McDonald, Charles.
McHugh, Vincent.
Malone, Patrick.
Mannion, John.
Murphy, Dominick F.
O'Reilly, Patrick (Cavan).
O'Sullivan, Denis J.
Prendergast, Micheál A.
Quinlan, Patrick M.
Rooney, Éamon.
Sheehy Skeffington, Owen L.

Ahern, Liam.
Boland, Gerald.
Brennan, John J.
Browne, Seán.
Cole, John C.
Dolan, Séamus.
Eachthéirn, Cáit Uí.
Egan, Kieran P.
Farrell, Joseph.
Fitzsimons, Patrick.
Flanagan, Thomas P.
Honan, Dermot P.
Killilea, Mark.
McGowan, Patrick.
Martin, James J.
Nash, John Joseph.
Ó Conalláin, Dónall.
Ó Donnabháin, Seán.
O'Kennedy, Michael.
Ó Maoláin, Tomás.
O'Reilly, Patrick (Longford).
O'Sullivan, Ted.
Ryan, Eoin.
Ryan, James.
Ryan, Patrick W.
Ryan, William.
Sheldon, William A. W.
Teehan, Patrick J.
Yeats, Michael.

Question declared lost.

The Seanad adjourned at 10.30 p.m. until 3 p.m. on Tuesday, 23rd July, 1968.

Last Updated: 15/09/2010 09:34:24 First Page Previous Page Page of 6 Next Page Last Page